iorewyi.blogg.se

Starwind v2v converter
Starwind v2v converter










starwind v2v converter
  1. Starwind v2v converter how to#
  2. Starwind v2v converter install#
  3. Starwind v2v converter software#

#$vhdSizeBytes = (Get-Item $pathToConvertedVM).length - 512 $pathToConvertedVM = "C:\scripts\HyperV\Azure.v2\convertedVM1_2.vhd" Install-Module -Name Az -Scope CurrentUser -Repository PSGallery -ForceĮnable-WindowsOptionalFeature -Online -FeatureName Microsoft-Hyper-V-Management-PowerShell A little more information about the magic of uploading to Azure.

Starwind v2v converter install#

Unfortunately, my magic doesn't work on the Azure jumpbox because the converted VHD needs to be resized and I can't install HyperV tools in an Azure VM. With a little magic, I am able to upload the VHD to Azure (as Gen 2), create an Azure VM, and get it to boot in Azure. In the office, I am able to convert a local VMDK to a local VHD. I have also done some testing on a PC in the office. I am able to use V2V Converter to convert the local VMDK to Azure, but it won't boot (because it is Gen 1 in Azure). I am able to retrieve a VMDK image from the Azure copy of the Datastore, and save it locally on the jumpbox. I have created a native Azure VM to use for conversion/jumpbox. Technically I could run VMware in Azure, but that is expensive. I won't have access to an ESXi server in DR in Azure. I'm trying to do a Proof of Concept for DR, where I access the replicated VM in Azure and convert it to run in native Azure format.

Starwind v2v converter software#

My VMware Datastores are replicated to Azure via software from the Storage Provider. A little more information on my process. I have the opportunity to set the name of the VDH file that goes in the Blob, but no control of the managed disk that is attached to the VM, that uses the underlying VHD file. While I'm at it, the name of the managed disk in Azure is terrible. There needs to be a configuration option in V2V Converter to set the Generation of the Azure destination Disk

Starwind v2v converter how to#

Maybe it is because I am using a local VDMK image as the source (I'm not using an ESXi Server as the source)? Maybe it is because V2V Converter doesn't know how to set the Generation on the Azure side? I have read in other posts that the Generation of the VM is supposed to be detected automatically, but that doesn't seem to be working in this case.

starwind v2v converter

The source VMDK is UEFI, so the resulting Azure VM doesn't boot. I am using V2V converter to convert a local VMDK image to Azure, and the Generation is not set, which defaults to Gen 1.

  • StarWind Virtual Tape Library (VTL) OEM.
  • StarWind Virtual Tape Library Appliance (VTLA).
  • StarWind HyperConverged Appliance (HCA).











  • Starwind v2v converter